Time to write

Picture courtesy JimmyBurnsArt.com

So all writers have the dilema, how to fit writing round the rest of their life.

Lets see what I have to juggle.

Kids – 5 including one newborn and ranging up to the age of 12.
The normal duties of house
Working whether full time or part time. (at present not, but will be resuming in another couple of months)
A partner who gets jealous of writing time

Written down it doesn’look much but man between feeding, and nappychanges the day can slip away.  Especially if one falls asleep and doesn’t wake for 1/2 the day.

SO what am I going to do?

I am going to limit from tomorrow my “surfing” time to baby feeding times.  And then I will have 1/2 an hour at night once DH goes to sleep to blog.  That will be plenty and will also give me a day to think of something to right.

I want to write 2000 words a day.  I am NOT going to be able to do that in one hit 5 kids do not allow that.  BUT 4 x 15 minutes is possible.  That is how I keep my house tidy.  15 minutes at a time.

I know I can write 500 words in 15 minutes so I should be able to do the 2000.  So 15 minutes once DH goes to work.  15 minutes after school drop off.  15 minutes before school pickup (or 15 minutes while waiting at shcool) and 15 minutes late at night.  That may not work out perfectly like that but at least if I set 15 minute targets that at least is achievable.

I have a balancing act to accomplish.  So let’s see how we go.

~ by Bron on October 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
