Epiphany

Flickr – Barabeke

Well my 50kin30days was a flop. I got to 17000 words and realised I was 1/2 way through my story. Disappointed that I wouldn’t be able to make the 50k I stopped. Just didn’t want to bother. I felt a failure. How I meant to be a “real” author if I can’t do something as basic as write 50,000 words a relativel short novel?

So I tossed and turned and tried to forget it while feeling guilty the whole time. Last night a dear friend of mine pointed out that authors come in all different book shapes and sizes and snap out of it because I have been published.

She’s right you know. I have been published as an ebook and I have 3 or 4 books that I scrapped because they weren’t long enough to become a print book. But does it matter? No, the stories themselves are actually quite sound sure they need editing but that is part and parcel of learning this game.

And guess what as I look at each one I have written they are getting a little longer. I will get to my 50,000 words in one book but it will take me time to learn how. How to grow the story and I will do that one word at a time. You can’t grow if you don’t try.

So today I will go back to my book and I will write. I will write the remainder of the book. I will right the remainder of a were wolf book and I may just decided to go ahead and submit them. I can only get knocked back.

What’s worse then getting knocked back? Not trying in the first place when you want to. So 50kin30days let’s see what I can end up at in different books.

~ by Bron on June 25, 2008.

4 Responses to “Epiphany”

  1. Wonderful things Ephiphanies are – glad you are getting back to your book. Good luck!!

  2. Your friend…and you are soooo right! We learn as we go. Get better with time. See things later on that make us laugh that we didn’t before…and none of that would be possible if you’d not tried in the first place. 🙂 Have fun writing!

    Cole

  3. Bron, I feel terrible, I should have known you were feeling like this, I’ve let you down and I’m sorry. 50/30 was not meant for you just to write one story I’ve finished two that I had started, written one that is only 15ks and working on one that will only be 25ks. So you write shorter stories what’s wrong with that? NOTHING.
    So I hope you will hang around for July, we are going to continue on, some who won’t make the 50k are going to write, some are going to edit and me? Well I’m going to write and edit depending on my mood when I wake up in the morning on any given day. I’m getting as bad as my characters.

    Hugs
    Sandie

  4. It really does take time to find out who you are. You’re already halfway there, having finished books of any length. Keep at it!

Leave a Reply

 
