Paranormal.

As you know I write paranormal.  I love the genre.  The trouble is that a lot of the writing is similar.

Angst ridden regretful vampires, bonding for life werewolves.  I mean I can see the editors/agents point.  The trouble comes in when someone like me, writes about people aka vampires that are quite comfortable in their skins and generally have chosen their life.  They are happy with it.  Sure it may not be the easiest of lives but really when you think about it mere mortal lives are not the easiest of lives either, there is disease and suffering and outcasts with their own secrets to be kept.

How do I convey that to an agent without them rolling their eyes as soon as the word vampire comes up.  Nor do my werewolf novels have the bond for life thing going for them.  Sure they fall in love and live HEA but truly it has nothing to do with the fact that they are werewolves and must bond and be pack leader.  They are also human.

Not until I started reading some of the writers out there and their books did I even realise there was this culture of believing they would be pack animals.  Werewolf to me meant definitely a loner, secretive, controlled by the moon cycles.  I can work with that.

Shapeshifters are different they can change willy nilly, do what they want, when they want.  Different kettle of fish.  Is there any room for me?  How can I get noticed if I can’t tell an agent what I write like.  I can present a synopsis and a first chapter but having little experience with synopses I am unsure if I can bluntly state that this is the way it is.

Blood Vengeance shows what my thoughts are like to a degree.  But I want every book different.  Each person will have their story to tell some will have anxieties, some won’t.  Some will be happy as a vampire some will have to come to terms with the changes in their life.

When it comes down to it I will write what I wish to whether it is paranormal, erotica, romance or children’s.  The hard work will come trying to ensure that I am not assumed to be the same as all others.

~ by Bron on April 1, 2008.

One Response to “Paranormal.”

  1. Hi Bronwyn,
    I love the look of your blog! Very paranormally (is that a word? Oh well, I’m a writer of fiction I make things up all the time.)
    I notice you’re a member of PI, me too. That place is so full of great info and people.
    ‘See’ ya!
    Rachel

Leave a Reply

 
